Interview with Julian, a lead Android developer at Applover

We love to talk with our industry peers about how do they actually approach app development, how they cooperate together and why they love what they do. This time we have interviewed lead Android developer at Applover, our friendly digital agency from Poland.

Hello. Could you briefly talk about yourself and about your position in Applover?

Hello. My name is Julian. I’ve been with Applover for almost four years now. I work as a lead Android developer. Apart from daily development work for both in-house projects and external clients, I try to take care of our Android team. I mostly focus on facilitating better communication, removing impediments and organizing meetings or new initiatives.

From a group of 4 friends, Applover managed to grow quite rapidly into a healthy, almost medium-sized enterprise. That also surely means that people have become more specialized in the team and the team synchronization, both within and between teams and management. Majority of IT companies were forced to adopt home offices on an unprecedented scale. Some have thrived, some have seen a drop in their productivity.

What is the 2020 like for Applover and the dev team in particular?

We have been fortunate enough to avoid any major drawbacks in 2020. The entire market has changed in really unexpected ways. We have not been significantly affected by the whole situation due to our twofold strategy. Providing both full-stack and team extension services has allowed us to stay agile and pivot when needed.

When it comes to the day-to-day operations, we have always been remote-friendly. Switching to the fully remote work mode was not that difficult as we already had some relevant experience. We made sure to keep the spirits high and everyone feeling included in the team by organizing remote team building activities. It was very well received and honestly quite fun.